Behind the Scenes

It’s #TalentThursday!

tumblr_m4qt00p8Zr1rt6yhno1_500

Just when I was going to write about something else, this article spoke to me.  Why?  Because I had just committed one of the acting cardinal sins that the author speaks of.  On Monday, I missed an audition for an extremely well paying gig…. because I had to work.   I had such an unsettling feeling in my gut Monday.  All day long, I tried to tell myself that  1) it was an audition and not a booked gig (so there was a possibility that I might not have booked the role) , and 2) I did the “mature” thing by not calling out from my job.  Let’s be honest:  this desk job is not my chosen career.  Before I go any further, allow me to say that I am truly grateful to have a stable job.  I like the concept of having a roof over my head, food in my fridge and the ability to buy the munchkin every Dora the Explorer item she so desperately needs. 😀  But deep down in my heart, I KNOW I made the wrong decision.

How can I sit here and hope to successfully run a blog and vlog that tells actors to pursue their dreams when I am too chicken shit to do the same?  Geez, I hope this doesn’t mean I will be the “Do as I say, Not as I do” type of mother.  😦 Wait-  I won’t.  From this day forward, I choose to lead by example.  I will lead by example not just for my fellow starving artist, but also for my daughter.    I cannot continue in this manner and expect to reach my career goals.  While it isn’t right to call out sick from your job to go to an audition, it also isn’t right to blow off your audition for the benefit of someone else and the pursuit of their career goals.  Is that what you would be doing?  Technically, your employer has already pursued their dream.  They have created their business and, no matter the size, they generate enough income to pay you to help their growing business.  It’s time for us to stand up for ourselves and give our dreams a fighting chance.  I’m not saying we should all stage a walk out from our current craptacular desk jobs, what I AM saying is that we should all look inside of ourselves and assess our talents.  ” Well, first you take stock in your skill set and find what makes you unique.  What are you really good at, and what would be of value to others? Then you start looking for work that allows you to use that skill set.”, says Erin Cronican the founder & coach with The Actors’ Enterprise.  She further adds the following:

Actors need to look at what their skill set it and then match that to a relevant job/company. 

For pure acting skills, I might suggest standardized patient work (medical schools) or mock trial/interview work (law schools, police departments, mediators). These all use an actor’s skill set and pay an hourly income or project based income. Maria’s suggestion of singing in churches is brilliant.

But I don’t think actors should limit themselves, even if they don’t have office skills. My best friend has spent much of her life making her money as an actor, and on the side she did some serving & bartending. Due to these jobs, she became the perfect hire for a lawyer who needed someone to assist with communications. Being a server gave her great people skills, the ability to work under pressure, and the ability to work unsupervised. It’s a matter of relating a current skill set to one that is required at a job, even if it doesn’t sound like a perfect fit at the start.

The link to the complete article is listed below.  Please be sure to read the comments sections also well as the author further explains her post.  I hope her article helps you to consider other job opportunities and allows you to do as much soul searching as it did for me.  Best of luck to all of you.   Have a great day!

http://www.backstage.com/advice-for-actors/backstage-experts/how-find-perfect-day-job/

“The purpose of life, after all, is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experiences.”

– Eleanor Roosevelt

201112

Leave a Reply

